Under the Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has 15 Members, and each Member has one vote. Under the Charter, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

The Security Council Chamber was furnished by Norway and designed by leading Norwegian architect, Arnstein Rynning Arneberg, and it’s easily identified by its central horseshoe-shaped table. A large mural by Norwegian artist, Per Lasson Krohg, symbolizing the promise of future peace and individual freedom, dominates the east wall.


Syndication Links